NegOcc champs PFF Under-19 with 1-0 extra-time win

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Negros Occidental FA cemented their place as the kings of the PFF Under-19 Boys National Championship – First Division after a thrilling 1-0 extra-time win over National Capital Region FA last Saturday 04 June 2022 at the PFF National Training Center in Carmona, Cavite.

Late substitute Kyle Alipoon delivered the winning goal in the 118th minute in the championship match that went into extra-time after a scoreless 90 minutes.

As penalty shootout loomed late in the match, Alipoon delivered the strike that sent the crowd in pandemonium. A long ball by Chris Valderama towards the NCRFA box forced goalkeeper Jan Diola to move out of his line for the clearance, but his effort sent it straight to Alipoon, who rifled a right-footed shot to the top corner and into the goal.

In the Battle for Third match, Iloilo FA came away as the third best team of the First Division following a 1-0 win over SOCSARGEN RFA. Selwyn Mamon netted the lone goal in the third minute from a header.

NCR’s John Jalique and Iloilo FA’s Selwyn Mamon were adjudged as the tournament joint-top goalscorer with six goals a piece.

NOFA’s John Marcellana and Francis Madamecilla were named the best goalkeeper and best midfielder respectively.

NCRFA’s Haren De Grace was the best defender while NOFA’s Rohderick Rodriguez was awarded as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.