DSWD disaster bureau on standby as PHIVOLCS notes low-level unrest in Kanlaon


The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) disaster monitoring center is closely coordinating with concerned DSWD field offices for significant updates on preparedness measures after the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS) on Tuesday, July 5 monitored 17 volcanic earthquakes in Kanlaon Volcano in Negros Island.

Rodel Cabaddu of DSWD’s disaster response management bureau said the its office in region 6 is in coordination with the City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO) of Himamaylan, Talisay and Bago City for additional prepositioning of goods.

The agency is also in close monitoring with PHIVOLCS and concerned local government units for any displacement of families and needs for support through the Quick Response Teams (QRTs) and Action Teams deployed at the local level, Cabaddu added.

In its 5AM advisory on July 5, PHIVOLCS said Kanlaon emitted plumes reaching 300 meters tall that drifted northwest.

PHIVOLCS said Kanlaon remains under alert level 1 status.

PHIVOLCS strongly reminds the public that entry into the 4-kilometer radius Permanent Danger Zone (PDZ) is strictly prohibited due to the further possibilities of sudden and hazardous steam-driven or phreatic eruptions.

Areas under the four (4)-kilometer permanent danger zones are thirteen (13) barangays of Canlaon City (Lumapao, Malaiba, Masulog and Pula), La Castellana (Biaknabato, Cabagnaan, Mansalanao and Sag-Ang), La Carlota City (Ara-al, and Yubo), Bago City (Ilijan and Mailum), and San Carlos City with a combined population count of 76,656, DSWD said.

In the event of a massive eruption it may directly affect a total of 528,8383 persons covering all barangays of the said municipality and 4 cities, DSWD added.

Its last eruption was reported on December 20, 2017 characterized by small volcanic earthquakes with moderate emissions of white steam-laden plumes that rose to 400 meters from the summit.